Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > What is this Security Alert mean?

Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free!

What is this Security Alert mean?

Reply to Message Icon

Original Message
Name: HelpMe
Date: September 6, 2002 at 12:38:40 Pacific
Subject: What is this Security Alert mean?
OS: windows xp
CPU/Ram: pentium
Comment:

Hi,

When I was surfing the internet today, a microsoft internet explorer pop-up window displayed. The following message was in the window:

Security Alert!
Your computer is currently broasting an internet IP address. With this address. someone can begin attacking your computer!

This is not like any of the advertisements because it didn't ask to download anything but just a big alert in a big pop-up window.

What is it mean? What am I going to do? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.


Report Offensive Message For Removal


Response Number 1
Name: Doh
Date: September 6, 2002 at 13:21:27 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

It is an advertisement. Dont let those ads fool you into clicking the fake "ok" button. Your computer wouldnt tell you something like that. And every computer that is on the internet is broadcasting an IP address unless your behind a firewall or masked your IP in some other way. Computer graphic artist and advertisers are getting very good...


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 2
Name: HelpMe
Date: September 6, 2002 at 14:31:44 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Thanks for the reply. I don't think it's a advertisement because

1. The alert didn't ask me to download anything.

2. I am using a personal firewall.

What is the problem?


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 3
Name: suzi
Date: September 6, 2002 at 15:27:38 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

It is not really a problem. It is just an advertising trick to get you to click on the ad so they can try to sell you something.

The "warning" that you see is really an ad made to look like a security warning. I see them often. Just ignore it; it is really nothing to worry about. It is not a problem with your computer.

Does you firewall have an option to block pop up ads? If so, use the option and it will help eliminate those kinds of ads.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 4
Name: suzi
Date: September 6, 2002 at 15:30:52 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

If you are still not convinced and you see that again, try clicking on the warning and then you will really see that it is an ad. They don't want you to know it is an ad until after you have clicked on it.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 5
Name: Tank863
Date: September 6, 2002 at 18:15:37 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

HelpMe,

This is a very common Java Script Popup program...
what it does and is very easy to do....


connect to this site for an example:
Java Sun Demo

all it is, is really fancy programmimng that makes you think that youy are a target...

tank863


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal


Response Number 6
Name: EC
Date: September 7, 2002 at 07:01:30 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Pass your mouse over the "Warning message"
(without clicking it) and it should display a website http://fastclick
Look them up on www.google.com
They are crap ad pop uppers.
Ignore them.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home








Do you have your own blog?

Yes
No
I did before
I will soon


View Results

Poll Finishes In 4 Days.
Discuss in The Lounge
Poll History




Data Recovery Software