|
| Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free! |
what is inklineglobal.com about?
|
Original Message
|
Name: Hulk11
Date: July 15, 2003 at 16:38:35 Pacific
Subject: what is inklineglobal.com about? OS: Win Me CPU/Ram: No Clue
|
Comment: I went to their site and clicked on their software security booster and it showed my HD space, OS, etc.
Report Offensive Message For Removal
|
|
Response Number 1
|
Name: capt
Date: July 15, 2003 at 17:08:55 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)It is a scam if they are trying to scare you, do not buy their product! When you go to a website your computer must establish a connection, and this is how they get that information. Go to http://grc.com/ for more information and that site also has some great scans and other aids. Some other sites are http://www.wilders.org and http:www.pcflank.com/
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 3
|
Name: Hulk11
Date: July 15, 2003 at 18:37:44 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)so when I went into inklineglobal.com, they got my computer info when my computer made a connection into their sites? I don't think it's a scam because when I typed inklineglobal in Yahoo search, I clicked on "more sites about" and it's in one of the more Popular sites. BTW when i went to http://www.grc.com, it didn't say anything about inklineglobal.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 4
|
Name: capt
Date: July 15, 2003 at 20:56:27 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)GRC informs you how/why! There are and have been several other similiar companies with offers to correct your vulnerable system for a nominal fee. Use the free scans at http://www.browsercheck.qualys.com/, and follow their security advice, just remember there is a trade off of security vs ease of web use.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 5
|
Name: suzi
Date: July 15, 2003 at 22:08:07 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Security Booster looks like a legitimate product, but as capt said, there are free services and software that can do most of what it does. IMO it would be a better use of money to get a good firewall - or even get a free one such as Sygate, Kerio or Zone Alarm. Also get Spybot Search & Destroy (free) to remove spyware and immunize you from browser hijacking etc. Spywareblaster (free)prevents unwanted active x installs too. Spywareguard (free) also prevents spyware. Get Cookie Wall to control what cookies you accept (free). You can delete cookies, your browser history, temp internet files your self with a few mouse clicks. The one thing it says it does which may be somewhat unique is erase the index.dat file. There is a free program, delindex, developed by a former computing.net regular which does the same thing for Win 98 and ME. (It doesn't work for XP.) What capt was saying, I think, is that you can get free scans to tell you about the security holes in your computer without having to pay for the software. There's links to the free things I mentioned on my homepage. HTH.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 6
|
Name: wawadave
Date: July 16, 2003 at 07:29:36 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)hello its a scam.if you had a good properly configured fire wall you would not be letting your personel info out to scum sights like the one you were at. try this scan test my sheilds grc https://nanoprobe.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 it will test the integrity of your fire wall. but of coruce if you like being scammed feel free to by there program.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 7
|
Name: Hulk11
Date: July 16, 2003 at 10:23:26 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)I'm using Norton Firewall 2002. How can i configure my firewall properly? I've never had problems with my firewall. It's set up perfectly because sometimes the "AlertTracker" shows up and it tells me if there is someone accessing my comp. But when I went to inklineglobal.com, I saw my HD space, OS, etc. on the site. It seems like a legit site because its on "Yahoo's most popular sites" and they say they're affiliated with Mcafee. I went to https://nanoprobe.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 and it just showed my ip address.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 8
|
Name: suzi
Date: July 16, 2003 at 20:10:16 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)hulk, I think it's a javascript trick that lets a site show what's on your computer. It's not harmful. Try going to tools, internet options, (in IE), security, uncheck or disable everything having to do with active x and javascript. Do the same under the advanced tab and see it that stops it. Then reset them back to default or however you had them before, or you will find surfing the web difficult. Any website you go to records your IP address, your browser, operating system, what pages you view and for how long. It also shows what site you came from if it was a link on another site. I can see all of that in my web stats for everyone who goes to my site. So what that site is showing you is not unusual. I've seen pages that show you a picture of your hard drive and it scared me at first. I don't think that site or product is a scam but it's not somthing that I would pay for as I said before.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 9
|
Name: suzi
Date: July 16, 2003 at 20:14:59 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Just one more thing - what that site is showing is not your personal info. Your IP address etc is not personally identifyible (I don't think I spelled that right but you know what I'm trying to say.) If someone looks up your IP address all they see is who your ISP is. And your ISP does not give out your info unless its a criminal matter.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 10
|
Name: Hulk11
Date: July 18, 2003 at 10:56:50 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Thanks for straightening things out. I'll try disabling ActiveX & Javascript to see if it works.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 11
|
Name: Hulk11
Date: July 18, 2003 at 11:03:00 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Also when you said that it lets a site show what's on your computer, does the site owner see's what's on my computer also or just me? I know it's a stupid question to ask, but i'm just curious.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 12
|
Name: Chai
Date: July 20, 2003 at 02:54:08 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Hulk11, that's a very good question. If it's JavaScript and you haven't submitted any forms, the site owner should not be able to see that information--only you see it. On the other hand, he would be able to see this information if he exploited a security hole in Internet Explorer and/or Windows. But if Windows is updated, that's not likely. So the answer is, probably not. Keep your guard up, though!
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 13
|
Name: robw
Date: July 31, 2003 at 11:13:17 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)I too was curious how they displayed the list of my folders in the browser. I checked the source, they include the url http://www.inklineglobal.com/adsales/mypc.html This url contains a document.write() javascript line that creates the frame that shows the folders: iframe src='file:///C:/' height=80 width=600 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 scrolling=no frameborder=1 vspace=2 If you're familiar with HTML, you'll note the "file" url as the iframe source. This results in the folder names being displayed in your browser only - nothing is transmitted back to the site owner. I agree with the other posters that inklineglobal is using unfair scare tactics and wouldn't patronize them for that reason.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 14
|
Name: cjw
Date: August 27, 2003 at 07:34:01 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)When I tried to install Inkline Global's PC Booster I got this message: "Please wait while install shield Wizard prepares the setup". After severa failed attempts to install the program I asked Product Support for help and received the following message: "You can try to install again later, and wait until the progress to go. It's normal process". This is not misprint or misquote. When I decided to ask for a refund I discoved InklineGlobal is based in Singapore and the only quick way to contact them is via a Fax.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|

Post Locked
This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
Go to Security and Virus Forum Home
|
|
|