Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > Troublesome Newsletter site

Troublesome Newsletter site

Reply to Message Icon

Original Message
Name: RobertEL
Date: December 3, 2006 at 14:36:48 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
OS: Win XP SP2
CPU/Ram: P4 3.0gHz / 1G ram
Comment:

For years many have been unwillingly subscribed to a newsletter, Deaf Digest, and attempts to unsubscribe always fail. The site is deafdigest.net and I would like to take action against them but think whoever hosts the site is the best place to go, correct? How would I find this information?

Just today, I received an email saying my address was verified. I know they do this without anyone's consent and they will not stop doing it. Its time to put a stop to it.


Report Offensive Message For Removal

Response Number 1
Name: XpUser
Date: December 3, 2006 at 15:35:05 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

WHOIS information for deafdigest.net (deafdigest.com)

Barry Strassler is the "editor" (if not the owner) Also someone remarked in THIS blog that Barry is harvesting e-mail addresses.

HTH

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 2
Name: XpUser
Date: December 3, 2006 at 16:14:10 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

Is the above info sufficient for you?

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 3
Name: Sabertooth
Date: December 3, 2006 at 18:21:55 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

"Subscription Options"

NOTICE: Please email Barry@Deafdigest.com if you have any problems subscribing or unsubscribing from Deafdigest mailing list."

I am not sure if the above will help but it is from the website.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 4
Name: RobertEL
Date: December 3, 2006 at 19:29:15 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

Xpuser, yes I think that helped a lot. So Godaddy is the host? Are they good about dealing with issues like this? I could not find anything on the blog, would be interesting to read more.

Sabertooth, here is what my email says. I think it will answer the question. LOL

"this is to verify your email address.

do not reply to this message

This email system has been programmed
to discard all responses without being read.

thanks"

And that is from the same email address you pasted above. Contrary to what the web site says, people do NOT have their unsub requests honored.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 5
Name: gazzapee
Date: December 6, 2006 at 01:08:36 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

Could you not just simply block the senders address in your email program?


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal


Response Number 6
Name: RobertEL
Date: December 7, 2006 at 19:22:17 Pacific
Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site
Reply: (edit)

gazzapee. Certainly any address can be blocked. In this case tho, it seems more wise to try and force this guy to operate with ethics. If no one takes action, he will continue to do what he is doing. Doesn.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal






Use following form to reply to current message:

   Name: From My Computing.Net Settings
 E-Mail: From My Computing.Net Settings

Subject: Troublesome Newsletter site

Comments:

 


  Homepage URL (*): 
Homepage Title (*): 
         Image URL: 
 
Data Recovery Software