Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Hello, yesturday i was on msn and i got this link sent to me by a person who i wasn't talking to at the time. I clicked on the link and downloaded a file (art.exe, then a file called gold.exe appeared. But after that my computer started to mess up, virus found. I was still on msn at the time and the link that was set to me, sent to everyone i had online from me, automatically. A popup kept appearing saying that virus found and it had been healed (but it hasn't). Avg is what anti virus software i use, i recently downloaded NOD32 to see if that would work but when it run, it couldn't do anything because it said not authorised to do anything. So i tracked down the loaction and tried deleting it there, which i did.
The file is empty but a avg popup kept saying its still in the folder?? and the program still runs.
I think that there is a source which i haven't found yet may reinstall a program that is used to continuoulsy send link of virus to msn contacts. I got warning up on my msn name to warn people when i log in to see if the problem has gone.
I got hijack this and i know how to use it but i don't understand the results within the scan or what to look for.

well part of it is sorted now, the link is not continuously sent to all online contacts any more or virus alert popup, but my cpu usage is 100%

I hope you learned a lesson from this. Not to click on links or to perpetuate scams like this..
Why not just restore to a point before this happened?
Life is more painless for those who are brainless.

i tried doing system restore but there were no restore points for june and i coudn't go back a month. Restore points is not turn off so points r made automatically. I think this was part of the virus/program preventing this.

You might want to try Trend Micro HouseCall. I'd suggest going into safemode(f8), chose with networking and run it from there.

doesn't work, unless it takes over 1 and a half hours to do the scan. It didn't seem to be doing anything in the meantime.

yeah.. i keep getting that popup from avg
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/...
if you find out how to get rid of it, that would be greatly appreciated.

![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |