Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > Suspicious Email

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Suspicious Email

Reply to Message Icon

Name: Brandon Heat
Date: July 9, 2004 at 23:27:59 Pacific
OS: Win98SE
CPU/Ram: 256MB
Comment:

I received this email from Citibank but I don't even own a Citi account or have connection to them what so ever. This the first time I received such email, so I'm a bit worried. The email is as follows:

Dear client of the Citi

As the Technical service of the Citibank have been currently updating the software,
We kindly ask you to follow the reference given below to confirm your data, otherwise your access to the system may be blocked.

https://web.da-us.citibank.com/signin/scripts/login2/user_setup.jps

We are garteful for your cooperation.

And it's not even text. They just make look like it is. Here's the link to the message. And this is the real address (hidden) they want me to go: http://24.50.218.147:3127/cit/index.htm

Any thoughts on this? Thanks!




Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: RobertEL
Date: July 9, 2004 at 23:45:52 Pacific
Reply:

Someone is fishing for account information. The legit companies never do this via email. Delete it.


0

Response Number 2
Name: JohnBC
Date: July 9, 2004 at 23:47:42 Pacific
Reply:

It's a scam. They just want your banking info so they can take money out of your account. DELETE THE E-MAIL. Do not respond to it.


0

Response Number 3
Name: Brandon Heat
Date: July 9, 2004 at 23:53:34 Pacific
Reply:

I knew something's up. eMail deleted. Thanks!



0

Response Number 4
Name: murve
Date: July 11, 2004 at 07:38:06 Pacific
Reply:

hi brandon,
all the advice given here should be taken very seriously.

the address they want you to go to: http://24.50.218.147:3127/cit/index.htm

the port referred to 3127 is:
Novarg a.k.a. Mydoom a.k.a. Worm.SCO.A MyDoom.C
delete, delete, delete.
all the best,
murve


0

Response Number 5
Name: JohnBC
Date: July 11, 2004 at 22:39:39 Pacific
Reply:

Just a followup on this thread. I just received the same e-mail Brandon got. My ISP tagged it as spam so the advice above to delete is to be taken to heart.

John


0

Related Posts

See More



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon

AVG Free Edition Question Many Many problems



Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: Suspicious Email

please help!(multiple iexplore) www.computing.net/answers/security/please-helpmultiple-iexplore/14670.html

Virus? Adware? Confused... www.computing.net/answers/security/virus-adware-confused/15719.html

OE virus attachment - no indicator www.computing.net/answers/security/oe-virus-attachment-no-indicator/11458.html