Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
A link from the porn site sublimedirectory.com led me to one of those websites that pretends to scan your computer for viruses, and pops up boxes saying you have trojans. I assume the site wants to install trojans itself, but the question is which trojans and by what method of installation? I used firefox, and never clicked ok or anything, just the X's in the popup boxes. Am I safe?
Anyone who wants to take a look, I'll post the link below. DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK if you don't know what you're doing or using Internet Explorer.
edited by moderator: Link deleted

Why would you post a link to a site that you know is malicious?
"So won’t you give this man his wings
What a shame
To have to beg you to see
We’re not all the same
What a shame" - Shinedown

I let it scan my computer and it found some infected dll files on my c:\ drive. Strange. I am running Linux and don't have any dll files or a c:\ drive. It wants to run and install something to clean the infected files. The name of the file it downloads starts with AGV, trying to make you think it might be AGV, a real virus scanner. A real virus scanner says the file it donwloads HAS a virus in it. When you link to this site it will respond with several different names and web pages, all bad.

ross-svens
A word of advice. When you run into something like that DO NOT use the corner X to close the box. This is just as likely to be set so that the virus is loaded.
Instead use the keys Ctrl-Alt-Del (together) then under the Applications tab highlight the website you see running. Hit the End Task button on any item showing, until your browser closes. There is a fair chance you will not pick up the virus.
some other bloke...

![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |