Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > Some skype warning

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Some skype warning

Reply to Message Icon

Name: ChrisG (by ChristopherTGarrett)
Date: October 18, 2009 at 18:01:36 Pacific
OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
CPU/Ram: 1.994 GHz / 3032 MB
Product: Dell Inspiron 1545
Subcategory: Viruses
Comment:

I got a message that came up on my skype. I do not understand it fully. There was a yellow (!) over the skype icon. Here is the message.

[10/17/2009 7:41:11 PM] Online Notification: ******************************************
URGENT SYSTEM SCAN NOTIFICATION ! PLEASE READ CAREFULLY !!

http://www.updatesp.org/

For the link to become active, please click on 'Add to contacts' skype button or type it in manually into your web browser !

FULL DETAILS OF SCAN RESULT BELOW
******************************************

WINDOWS REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION

ATTENTION ! Security Center has detected
malware on your computer !

Affected Software:

Microsoft Windows Vista
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows Server 2003

Impact of Vulnerability: Remote Code Execution / Virus Infection /
Unexpected shutdowns

Recommendation: Users running vulnerable version should install a repair utility immediately

Your system IS affected, download the patch from the address below !
Failure to do so may result in severe computer malfunction.

http://www.updatesp.org/

For the link to become active, please click on 'Add to contacts' skype button or type it in manually into your web browser !

Jesus Loves You!

Keyboard not detected. Hit F1 to Continue. BREAKFAST.SYS HALTED Cerial port not Responding!!



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: XpUser
Date: October 18, 2009 at 18:32:15 Pacific
Reply:

Haved you clicked on that link or on any buttons on whatever popped up when you started skype?

i_Xp/VistaUser


0

Response Number 2
Name: ChrisG (by ChristopherTGarrett)
Date: October 18, 2009 at 18:39:48 Pacific
Reply:

I did not click the link. The reason I did not click the link is because I have heard things like phony virus warnings on alot of IM programs. I scanned the "C:\Program Files\Skype\" folder with super antispyware avg and antimaleware bytes. No infections were found. Also I just done a full AVG scan today. My AVG is the paid retail version not the free version and all selections are checked to be scanned rootkits unknown ETC are checked. I am just scared this may be a hoax but maybe not. Is there any other program I can use to scan? I also ran spybot yesterday.

<edit>

I just clicked the link. I did not see anything to download. I am almost 100% sure it is a hoax now.

Jesus Loves You!

Keyboard not detected. Hit F1 to Continue. BREAKFAST.SYS HALTED Cerial port not Responding!!


0

Response Number 3
Name: ChrisG (by ChristopherTGarrett)
Date: October 18, 2009 at 19:03:30 Pacific
Reply:

It is a hoax for shure! for shure!

http://forum.skype.com/index.php?sh...

It reports that windows files are infected. Even on mac OS ha ha ha.

Jesus Loves You!

Keyboard not detected. Hit F1 to Continue. BREAKFAST.SYS HALTED Cerial port not Responding!!


0

Response Number 4
Name: XpUser
Date: October 19, 2009 at 05:50:28 Pacific
Reply:

Yes it is a hoax. Unfortunately computing.net hyperlink is once in a while buggy. In any event I managed to find the topic link you posted in two different posts at Skype and I have placed them below in parenthesis to ensure that whoever need help will find it.

(http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic=106534)

and

(http://share.skype.com/sites/security/2007/11/fake_malware_alert.html)

By the way if you need to read them, just copy & paste the URLs without the parenthesis.

i_Xp/VistaUser


0

Response Number 5
Name: ignys
Date: October 19, 2009 at 07:55:47 Pacific
Reply:

This is definitely a scam!

_________________________________
http://cid-556a72d9038a7868.spaces....


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: weespat282
Date: October 20, 2009 at 20:15:43 Pacific
Reply:

It's fake, completely fake. Just ignore it, and close out of that
window if it pops up. Don't fall for something like that =P

updatesp.org is also a website trying to imitate "Updatexp.com"
again, don't fall for it.


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon





Use following form to reply to current message:

Login or Register to Reply
LoginRegister


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: Some skype warning

POS.TMP Virus! www.computing.net/answers/security/postmp-virus-/22397.html

problems after trojan removal www.computing.net/answers/security/problems-after-trojan-removal/26837.html

Strange Sygate Warnings www.computing.net/answers/security/strange-sygate-warnings/13562.html