| Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free! |
question about AVG
|
Original Message
|
Name: Mary
Date: May 10, 2004 at 09:15:27 Pacific
Subject: question about AVGOS: XP homeCPU/Ram: 256 |
Comment: I am hoping someone can settle something for us on another board I visit. I visit a site for country music lyrics and a forum to ask for help looking for songs. I have been going to this site for at least a year now and I have no problems with spyware or anything from the site, I have Norton 2004, zonealarm and run adaware, spybot and spywareblaster, all updated on a regular basis. Recently two people are complaining that their AVG virus software is saying their is a trojan coming from the site. The owner of the site runs AVP (kaspersky) and he is getting no such message from his site he says and another person I e-mail with from the site is getting no message about trojans either so I don't understand what's going on. Here is the discussion that has started. Link FORUM Here is the page in question that one poster says is causing the trojan message to come up. I have not disabled my Norton and downloaded AVG to try this because I don't want to mess anything up on my computer. I get no error messages from Norton when I visit the page and after visiting the site I ran adaware and spybot and I had not one piece of spyware so is AVG reporting wrong or is the site causing these people to get a trojan? SONGS Happy AOL user for 4yrs.
Report Offensive Message For Removal
|
|
Response Number 1
|
Name: clover
Date: May 10, 2004 at 11:38:09 Pacific
|
Reply: Hi Mary, well I went to the site. Malicious code found in file C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\IJ23M5O7\FULLGAMES[1].EXE. Infection: Trojan.Win32.Dialer.az Action: Deleted. Trojan.Win32.Dialer.az It seems the trojan comes from the pop up as you enter the page and not the actual site. The pop up advertising fullgames.com. It has various pop ups because I went back a second time and it was a site called zoomy.com and no trojan with that one. So it looks like you may have visited the site and not got that particular pop up from full games.com. Hope this helps Hope this helps.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 2
|
Name: vipergg
Date: May 10, 2004 at 18:59:53 Pacific
|
Reply: I think previous poster hit it on the head ,must come from the popup as I use Netscape which has popup blocking and I went to this site and then scanned with my AVG free and it found nothing .
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 3
|
Name: Mary
Date: May 11, 2004 at 15:28:10 Pacific
|
Reply: Ok, I understand now. I guess they will have to take that up with the add company and straighten it out. I know for a fact they are not intentionally doing this and only recently have two people complained about this. Happy AOL user for 4yrs.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|

Post Locked
This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
Go to Security and Virus Forum Home
Results for: question about AVG
Questions about AVG anti-virus: Summary: Yes, you're right, capt.. I missed your reply on the other question; I'm having some problems with the refresh issue and the queue on this message board; it's not a big deal, but I get the odd thing ...
www.computing.net/answers/security/questions-about-avg-antivirus/4022.html
About AVG...? Summary: Iam have purchased a new computer & to protect my computer from virus i install AVG Anti virus. Please can some one tell me that is really AVG is good as compaired to Norton or Macfee Anti Virus... ...
www.computing.net/answers/security/about-avg/4919.html
question about a virus Summary: I found this strange file in my C:\ directory called command.com Could this be a virus? Okay, I'm just venting here. All these questions about winnt\system32 files is driving me crazy!! Stop going th...
www.computing.net/answers/security/question-about-a-virus/6192.html