Specialty Forums
Security and Virus
General Hardware
CPUs/Overclocking
Networking
Digital Photo/Video
Office Software
PC Gaming
Console Gaming
Programming
Database
Web Development
Digital Home

General Forums
Windows XP
Windows Vista
Windows 95/98
Windows Me
Windows NT
Windows 2000
Win Server 2008
Win Server 2003
Windows 3.1
Linux
PDAs
BeOS
Novell Netware
OpenVMS
Solaris
Disk Op. System
Unix
Mac
OS/2

Drivers
Driver Scan
Driver Forum

Software
Automatic Updates

BIOS Updates

My Computing.Net

Solution Center

Free IT eBook

Howtos

Site Search

Message Find

RSS Feeds

Install Guides

Data Recovery

About

Home
Reply to Message Icon Go to Main Page Icon

Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?

Original Message
Name: PPxrare
Date: September 4, 2007 at 13:37:34 Pacific
Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?
OS: Microsoft Windows Xp Sp2
CPU/Ram: 256mb
Model/Manufacturer: Acer Intel
Comment:
hello, when i opened download.com to download a file , i found an Ad , which basicly says that there might be some problems with your registry which are slowing down your computer , and they have a program which fixes those bugs and makes your computer faster, anyways the name of the program is Advanced registry optimizer and this is its site http://adserver.softwareonline.com/... anyways is this site trustable?


afaasdvsd


Report Offensive Message For Removal

Response Number 1
Name: unsober
Date: September 4, 2007 at 13:53:00 Pacific
Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?
Reply: (edit)
i wouldn't trust it, it looks kind of sketchy.

if you're looking for a registry cleaner though, "eusing" is a good one. google it

CCleaner is also a great program. not only does it clean/repair registries, it cleans out alot of other junk (TMP files, and other unneeded junk that get's created by programs) it has alot of features, check it out. first time i ran it, i cleaned out like 600MB worth of junk


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 2
Name: soupnasty
Date: September 4, 2007 at 14:19:54 Pacific
Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?
Reply: (edit)
I never ever download anything from download.com

It is far safer to go the software authors website to download, that way you will never get nasty surprises .


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 3
Name: XpUser
Date: September 4, 2007 at 17:51:04 Pacific
Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?
Reply: (edit)
Nice looking site can be deceptive. Run google using the two keywords adserver softwareonline and you will seee it's much more than being fake. Try it and see for yourself.

i_Xp/VistaUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 4
Name: Surikas
Date: September 5, 2007 at 05:27:36 Pacific
Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?
Reply: (edit)
Better use CCleaner. I've been using this for a while and am fully satisfied.

Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal



Use following form to reply to current message:

   Name: From My Computing.Net Settings
 E-Mail: From My Computing.Net Settings

Subject: Nice looking site , is it a fake?

Comments:

 
  Homepage URL (*): 
Homepage Title (*): 
         Image URL: 
 


Data Recovery Software



Version Tracker Pro
Keep your software current and secure, effortlessly

Click Here for a Free Scan

Driver Agent
Automatically find the latest drivers for your computer.
Click Here for a Free Scan



The information on Computing.Net is the opinions of its users. Such opinions may not be accurate and they are to be used at your own risk. Computing.Net cannot verify the validity of the statements made on this site. Computing.Net and Computing.Net, LLC hereby disclaim all responsibility and liability for the content of Computing.Net and its accuracy.
PLEASE READ THE FULL DISCLAIMER AND LEGAL TERMS BY CLICKING HERE

All content ©1996-2007 Computing.Net, LLC