Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Received an email today from "Citi-bank" telling me to click on a link (http://www.citi-bank.com:check-DPy4LzjcXxHErXA7n2Ph@aegfo0r4.da.ru/?f25tkKp0TtdxiKC) to confirm my Pin # for my ATM card and my email addy to use on-line account services. Of course this is a bogus email and as the link indicates clicking on it takes you to da.ru web site. I know this because while my brain was on vacation and I was telling myself delete this email (I don't have a citibank account) my had took the mouse to the link and clicked! As soon as I realized what I had done I closed the opening website (about 6 seconds) but now I'm wondering what new damage I might have done to my trojan horse besieged PC?
Thanks in Advance for any info on my stupidity! ;-)

Hi Omine. I don't know what damage you have done but if your pc is beseiged by trojans what have you done to protect it??
If you haven't already done so I suggest you run some anti-virus/ad software such as AdAware, Spybot and Cwshredder. Good advice is available at
http://www.computing.net/windowsxp/wwwboard/forum/87147.html
To stop having to download your e-mails I suggest you download/install Mailwasher which allows you to delete spam etc at the server.
All the above progs are FREE
Good luck
V...

I have been getting the big Q on this all day so I took a stand alone and opened it with a dial up after it did its flips and jumps i ran a check on the h/d in a secure server 5 program virus checks AVG, NAV Mcaffee,PC-cillin and just to be sure InoculateIT 6.0 and no luck not a Virus in the bunch. well maybe next time.
But just think of the fools that had there card out ready to give the info.... Now thats Scary
BE SAFE
M

![]() |
![]() |
![]() |

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |