|Being gifted the laptop I would restore it to factory settings. |
Most laptops allow a factory restore and offer the option during the boot sequence. Depending on the make and model accessing this option is initiated in different ways.
Be aware this option will wipe ALL files, folders and settings (I.e. User accounts) the previous user created and basically return the laptop to a shop bought state.
Some brands such as HP, offer a non-destructive and destructive restore. If you want the laptop to be restored to an unused state you need to select destructive restore.
If the previous owner has set an administrator account you will probably need to fill out these credentials during the restore process.
Google can help with the process. Google this:
Followed by the make and model of your laptop.
message edited by btk1w1