| Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free! |
Help!!! someone is using my email!!
|
Original Message
|
Name: Happy29
Date: March 1, 2004 at 00:00:36 Pacific
Subject: Help!!! someone is using my email!! OS: Windows 2000 CPU/Ram: 1 ghz 256mb
|
Comment: The past few days my internet has been strange so i did a really in depth virus scan and Norton found some files got rid of them. I now have outgoing email scanning on and it's going bonkers every time i get online. It keeps saying I'm sending out emails to AOL accounts but I'm not. I obviously have something on my PC that is sending spam through my email yet nothing shows up in my sent folder. I mean it looks like 50 emails a minute are being sent. How do I get rid of this if Norton can't detect it??? Any help would be awesome. Happy29
Report Offensive Message For Removal
|
|
Response Number 1
|
Name: Happy29
Date: March 1, 2004 at 00:04:04 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)to add to my post above I've also ran Panda & Trend Micro scans to find infected files that Norton wouldn't and it still doesn't help.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 2
|
Name: Dog
Date: March 1, 2004 at 04:29:25 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Are you doing everything mentioned in http://computing.net/security/wwwboard/forum/9711.html It might be worth a look HTH D4
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 3
|
|
Reply: (edit)Your copy of Outlook has been hacked! Everyone is familiar (or SHOULD be) with "Windows Update". There is also a "Office Update" feature. http://office.microsoft.com/OfficeUpdate/default.aspx There is a security hole in Outlook that needs to be patched.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 4
|
Name: Happy29
Date: March 1, 2004 at 11:20:04 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Well I installed sygate firewall and that seems to have done the trick for now. Each time I start my computer it auto dials to the internet and tries to connect to www.zmovies.net but now sygate blocks that. Anyone know what zmovies.net is???? No way I'm going to that url and I'd advice no one else to try it either. I'm guessing it is some sort of porn site since the emails it was trying send had porn stuff in the subject. I'm also patching office right now!!!
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|

Post Locked
This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
Go to Security and Virus Forum Home