Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > google scam mail?

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

google scam mail?

Reply to Message Icon

Name: deedly_squat
Date: March 2, 2006 at 16:16:35 Pacific
OS: WinXP PRo
CPU/Ram: 192MB
Comment:

I just received an email, supposedly from Google, that looks a little bit suspicious... it goes like this:

To initiate the process for resetting the password for your
Tyrantster@gmail.com Google Account, visit the link below

http://www.google.com/accounts/RP?c=5762538968708072227&hl=en_GB

If clicking the link above does not work, copy and paste the URL in a
new browser window instead.Thank you for using Google.

For questions or concerns regarding your account, please visit the
Google Accounts FAQ at
http://www.google.com/help/faq_accounts.html

This is a post-only mailing. Replies to this message are not monitored
or answered.


I didn't request for any password change when I received this mail.... is this some sort of scam or something?



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: lordmanhamer
Date: March 2, 2006 at 17:26:57 Pacific
Reply:

dont think so but if you didn't ask for it?!?! i would highly recomend you sign into google the normal way and change the password there also change the private question. i think your account has been comprimised and if you do this that should stop the problem dead.
better safe than sorry


0

Response Number 2
Name: Sarah_C
Date: March 2, 2006 at 21:17:45 Pacific
Reply:

Anything that has to do with your GMail password and/or other personal information would require you to sign in to their secured server of "https:". That link doesn't look like a place I'd wanna be giving out my password to.

~ Sarah C.

~~~~~~~
eMachines H2602
1.9ghz Athlon XP 2600+
80gb HDD Primary
40gb HDD Secondary
Windows XP Pro w/ SP2
512mb DDR PC2700


0

Response Number 3
Name: Sarah_C
Date: March 2, 2006 at 21:21:31 Pacific
Reply:

Ooops! It does appear to be on their "https:" secured server, so I guess it's a legitimate link.

However, if you didn't initiate the re-setting of your password, it could mean that your account has been compromised by someone else. So yeah, as lordmanhamer suggested, log in to your account and change everything just to be safe.

~ Sarah C.

~~~~~~~
eMachines H2602
1.9ghz Athlon XP 2600+
80gb HDD Primary
40gb HDD Secondary
Windows XP Pro w/ SP2
512mb DDR PC2700


0

Response Number 4
Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: March 3, 2006 at 00:20:07 Pacific
Reply:

By putting your email address on this forum, youDo a little research've opened another can of worms.

Do a little research.

www.fraud.org

Most major AV players, Symantec et al, have scam.hoax links.


If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2


0

Response Number 5
Name: deedly_squat
Date: March 6, 2006 at 21:05:10 Pacific
Reply:

oh and 1 more thing i forgot...my email address is tyrantster@gmail.com and the address in the mail is Tyrantster@gmail.com.... notice the capital T? if this is really from Google and it's automatically generated... wouldn't it not make that mistake... <correct me if i'm wrong>...


0

Related Posts

See More



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon

Question about CCleaner AIM virus, can someone pl...



Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: google scam mail?

Help with Secure32 www.computing.net/answers/security/help-with-secure32/20197.html

Unable to access McAfee or email www.computing.net/answers/security/unable-to-access-mcafee-or-email/25063.html

Scam e-mail www.computing.net/answers/security/scam-email/24737.html