Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > E-mail from Paypal - Scam Warning

Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free!

E-mail from Paypal - Scam Warning

Reply to Message Icon

Original Message
Name: XpUser
Date: March 12, 2006 at 09:08:25 Pacific
Subject: E-mail from Paypal - Scam Warning
OS: XP Home & PRO All SP2
CPU/Ram: 2.02GHz/512RAM
Comment:

I don't have - nor have I ever had - Paypal account but look what I received in e-mail today:

Reminder: Confirm Your Credit or Debit Card

Dear Customer,

This is a reminder that we need you to confirm your Credit or Debit Card.

PayPal will never reveal any of your financial information. From industry-leading security to extensive protection programs, PayPal is always working to safeguard you and your account. Only you can initiate transactions using your bank account, and PayPal will remind you via email whenever there is a fund transfer from your account.

How To Confirm Your Credit or Debit Card

PayPal has made two small deposits into the bank account you registered. These deposits should appear on your Account Statement.

Log in (here) to your PayPal account and enter the exact financial information required.

Why Confirm Your Credit or Debit Card?

It increases security

When you enter your exact financial information, you confirm that you are the owner of this bank account. This is because only you as the owner would have access to the exact amounts of the 2 deposits PayPal sent. This process increases the safety of the entire PayPal payments network.

Your PayPal account will become verified

Your PayPal account becomes verified once you confirm your financial information. With a verified account, there is no limit on the amount of money you can send through PayPal when you choose to make these payments using funds from your bank account.

When you confirm your financial information:

* You will improve your reputation by letting others know you're a confirmed, Verfied member of the PayPal community

* Your sending limit will be removed

* You will be able to fund purchases directly from your checking or savings account, in addition to using credit cards

* You will be able to add funds to your PayPal account directly from your bank account

* You will be able to send money to friends, family, and PayPal Personal Account holders

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Message For Removal


Response Number 1
Name: Jennifer SUMN
Date: March 12, 2006 at 09:50:32 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Yep. That's a standard phishing email. I get them all the time.

Soylent Green is PEOPLE!!!


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 2
Name: Lesley
Date: March 12, 2006 at 11:04:51 Pacific
Reply: (edit)


Me too

Have sent a couple to Pay-Pal - they confirm the Scam

Lesley


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 3
Name: capt
Date: March 12, 2006 at 12:33:12 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Shucks, there goes my retirement fund XpUser?


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 4
Name: smifff
Date: March 12, 2006 at 13:11:14 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Just do as paypal tell you to and forward it to spoof@paypal.com

If any advice helps, please post back as it might help others.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 5
Name: Derek
Date: March 12, 2006 at 15:24:46 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Yeah, I get those too (as does anyone who has got themselves onto the spammers data base).

Any minute now you'll get them from various online banking firms, Ebay, your server, and goodness knows who else.

All scams which of-course go straight into the bin.

DerekW


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal


Response Number 6
Name: XpUser
Date: March 12, 2006 at 16:31:08 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

I've done some forensic work on the mail header of this phishing email. Here is what I found:

Return-Path: <service@paypal.com>

Received: from actionboxinc.com (mail.actionboxinc.com [216.201.235.194])

Received: {(helo=instagate)
}}by actionboxinc.com with esmtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 1FILJ7-0007af-00; Sun, 12 Mar 2006 01:48:05 -0600

Received: from [141.85.0.75] (helo=User)
by actionboxinc.com with asmtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 1FILJ5-0007Zw-00; Sun, 12 Mar 2006 01:48:03 -0600


If I had clicked on the Log in link to PayPal account to enter the exact financial information required, I would have been taken to:

http://cm.lusterworks.co.ip/css./www.paypal.com.cgi-bin/webscr/cmd-verification_run/

instead of PayPal.com.

The point I am trying to share here is to Always know who you are dealing with before you click the mouse!

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 7
Name: Derek
Date: March 12, 2006 at 17:07:23 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Yep, switching you to another website is what they always do. Don't rely too much on Message Source info either, they know darned well we can all do that and are getting more clever at concealing themselves as every day goes by.

If at any time you feel one of these is not a scam (scams often obvious because of implied threats withdraw service) then use your normal link to the website if you have one and not anything included in an email.

I've had stacks of these attempts in the last 12 months. It's almost unheard of for websites to request Credit Card info again at some later date.

"Always know who you are dealing with before you click the mouse!" - yeah, too right.

DerekW


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 8
Name: XpUser
Date: March 12, 2006 at 17:13:50 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Absolutely. By the way they were clever enough to attach the following fine print at the bottom of the email:

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the Help link located in the top right corner of any PayPal page.

To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences here.

The bold clickable link shown in the above fine print would also have taken me to:

http://cm.lusterworks.co.ip/css./www.paypal.com.cgi-bin/webscr/cmd-verification_run/


PayPal Email ID PP432

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 9
Name: Jennifer SUMN
Date: March 13, 2006 at 16:30:21 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Baby, you got way too much time on your hands! LOL I just delete the emails. :)

Soylent Green is PEOPLE!!!


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 10
Name: XpUser
Date: March 15, 2006 at 06:40:29 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Sure I do have a lot of time standing by the phone to answer customers SOS calls :-) How can you tell how well versed are you really in recognizing phish emails? Go HERE to find out for yourself. Enjoy :-)

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home








Do you have your own blog?

Yes
No
I did before
I will soon


View Results

Poll Finishes In 5 Days.
Discuss in The Lounge
Poll History




Data Recovery Software