Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > ebay scam alert

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

ebay scam alert

Reply to Message Icon

Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: November 1, 2005 at 01:30:08 Pacific
OS: w2k sp3
CPU/Ram: PIII 933/256MB
Comment:

I got an email that has a link which supposedly goes to ebay.com but actually goes to 80.59.155.154 and tries to collect ID & PW.


If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: Old Salt
Date: November 1, 2005 at 04:13:43 Pacific
Reply:


Common scam, have you reported it to e-bay?


0

Response Number 2
Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: November 1, 2005 at 04:15:51 Pacific
Reply:

Hi O S,

No, have you got a link?


If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2


0

Response Number 3
Name: jerry6
Date: November 1, 2005 at 07:43:46 Pacific
Reply:

spoof@ebay.com


0

Response Number 4
Name: jen1979
Date: November 1, 2005 at 07:44:11 Pacific
Reply:

I get ebay scams like that once every couple weeks it seems.

Jen


0

Response Number 5
Name: Zenith
Date: November 1, 2005 at 08:57:23 Pacific
Reply:

Yep, e-bay, paypal, citibank, requests for money from Africa, etc., etc. :-)

This site says the IP (80.59.155.154) is in Spain.

http://www.geobytes.com/IpLocator.htm?GetLocation


98% of the population is asleep. The other 2% are staring around in complete amazement, abject terror, or both.


0

Related Posts

See More



Response Number 6
Name: ceri sheeran
Date: November 1, 2005 at 10:43:13 Pacific
Reply:

Hi,

A very useful Free IE & Firefox browser add-in that wil help guard and warn you against being redirected is Spoof Stick

http://www.spoofstick.com

Adds a small configurable line in an used space of the IE browser window that tells you the actual page you are on. Not the page you believed you were on. Currently this line tells me

You're on www.computing.net

This is where I wish to be.

I've got this running on all my machines.

I have actually tried this on th elink in an e-mail that appeared dosgy, I don't have a bank account with that bank.

The web page looked like the correct page. The Spoofstick line however told me I was nowhere near the bank site indicated in the link.

hth

Ceri


0

Response Number 7
Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: November 1, 2005 at 10:55:15 Pacific
Reply:

Gi Ceri,

When I followed the link in the email, it went to the IP I posted.


If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2


0

Response Number 8
Name: Jennifer SUMN
Date: November 5, 2005 at 18:02:31 Pacific
Reply:

This is not news...why in the world would you click on the link? Curiosity??? eBay actually has program called "IE Toolbar with Account Guard." It's available from eBay's site. You may want to consider installing and running that if you're using IE.


Soylent Green is PEOPLE!!!


0

Response Number 9
Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: November 5, 2005 at 18:38:35 Pacific
Reply:

Hi Jennifer,

Actually it is news.

The point was, and still is, to alert folks who might not be smart enough not to enter ID & PW.

The reason I clicked on the link was to see where it went.

It went to the IP I posted.

And you don't need IE or any plug in to know the location of the page. You just look at the location bar.


If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google


Results for: ebay scam alert

scam alert www.computing.net/answers/security/scam-alert/14957.html

Paid to Surf. Is it a scam? www.computing.net/answers/security/paid-to-surf-is-it-a-scam/11236.html

Free JUICE Broadband - True? www.computing.net/answers/security/free-juice-broadband-true/13350.html