Articles

Driver Robot & Blitware scams

January 22, 2010 at 16:17:55
Specs: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, 2.362 GHz / 2047 MB

This is just a "heads up" for anyone who is not already aware of Blitware and their Driver Robot program. Sorry if it has been reported on here before - I might have missed it.

It works in a similar way to bogus anti-malware. Unfortunately it is not easy to deduce this using Google because almost every word string which might be used (such as "Blitware Scam") has been used by the authors, so that you are promptly linked to Blitware who then say how wonderful and safe their stuff is. Anti-malware programs often report it if found.

Here's a couple of websites that got away:
http://www.loosewireblog.com/2009/1...

http://www.complaintsboard.com/?sea...

some other bloke...


See More: Driver Robot & Blitware scams

Report •


#1
February 9, 2010 at 16:13:06

This is a SCAM. Do not purchase. I bought product on line on 2/05/2010 for 44.95 for driver updates. They took the money the first night and nothing since. Todays is 2/09/2010 and no response for refund. The regerstration numbers they give you to enter to activate product are FAKE.
Mike, Indianapolis, Indiana

Report •

#2
April 12, 2010 at 14:14:25

Blitware technology products are fatal to your computer. I purchased pc medkit from the in march. After running their scan on my laptop, i could not access the internet, open programs' or log off in the normal manner. It totally shut down the operative mechanisms of the computer. When the computer was turned off, i was unable to turn it back on. Several e-mails to blitware's "support" are unawnsered. I am now looking at a $200 repair bill. Danger, do not buy anything from this company !!

Report •

#3
April 12, 2010 at 16:52:34

I made the mistake of not checking up on Blitware before
buying. As others have found, this software RUINS your
computer. Can't access web, utilites you already have that
might have allowed you to restore (the only accessible restore
point is the one their program makes when you install it),
NADA. Spoke with 2 tech repair guys, each of whom knew
well about this destructive program which you PAY for. They
each said they were having lots of folks bring their pc's in
hoping to fix them.
Luckily I bought through Clickbank, Have always had a good
experience with them. When I called them and asked for a
refund
(for PC Medkit, Driver Fetch and File Help), they gladly said
they would do so, no questions asked. I told them I'd like to
tell them why anyway, and they were interested. I may
contact the
State's Attorney General to see if they may want to team up
with other State Attorneys General to go after these guys. DO
NOT BE FOOLED....STAY AWAY FROM BLITWARE!

Addendum: Got a reply from Blitware granting refund...I don't know if that's because Clickware contacted them or if they would have refunded anyway. They also said to use system restore, which I had tried...inaccesible. Their instructions were a little odd and I quote: "If you can't get into Windows at all you can boot into Windows "Safe Mode". Start up the computer and while it is running through the process press the F8 key over and over again until you're shown a list of booting options. >From this list select "Safe Mode" and get ready to see the ugliest version of Windows ever (don't worry you won't have to look at it for long).

Click:
Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools > System Restore.

Choose a date previous to the day when the new drivers were installed and click restore."

Now that would have been nice, but the only rollback that was accesible (even though earlier ones I'd made over time were listed) was the one made when I installed their malw...er...programs and all that got me was the same mess as I got after installing and using their programs.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
April 14, 2010 at 21:25:07

Hi,
My name's Simon Baker and I am the new Online
Community Liaison for Blitware. As you may know, Blitware
is a fairly young company and as such, we've had our heads
buried in research and development for the past two years.
We're glad that we've been able to help so many people with
their computer challenges, but we also realize that we're not
perfect and that not all people who have had difficulties using
our products have come to us through our online customer
support system. We're trying to be proactive in seeking out
those customers online (hence my title) in an effort give the
best customer support possible.

As I read your comments here, I'm disappointed that I wasn't
able to address your concerns earlier. I can reassure you
that we are indeed a legitimate company and that we stand
behind our products. Having said that, we do realize that
"bugs" are inevitable in software development and we greatly
appreciate learning about what bugs people may be
discovering in our applications. If you come across
difficulties using our software or instances that you feel are
related to a bug or glitch, please don't hesitate to contact us
here: http://support.blitware.com/ . Of course, you are
welcome to email me directly as well and I will pass on your
concerns to the appropriate department at Blitware.

Sharkattak, I'm sorry that you had such a negative
experience with one of our applications. The product issue
that you mentioned was brought to our attention by one of
our customers through our online customer support system.
Thanks to them we were able to isolate the bug and fix it.We
sincerely apologize to you for the inconvenience and
frustration you experienced. Your post seems to indicate that
you received a full refund but if you feel that your interaction
with us has not been resolved to your satisfaction, please
don't hesitate to contact me.

I look forward to being of service and very much appreciate
your feedback.

Best Regards,
Simon


Report •


Ask Question