Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > bank notices

Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free!

bank notices

Reply to Message Icon

Original Message
Name: mlbauer
Date: April 16, 2006 at 17:34:39 Pacific
Subject: bank notices
OS: win xp 2
CPU/Ram: intel
Model/Manufacturer: hp
Comment:

i've had 3 notices from Chase Manhattan Bank saying "your account has been accessed by---" and then to get in touch with them to correct the problem. smelled veeery fishy and deleted them. besides, i don't have a chase acct. if it pops up again, is there someway to trace its origin without opening the email?


Report Offensive Message For Removal


Response Number 1
Name: capt
Date: April 16, 2006 at 21:51:08 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

You seem to know that these emails are phishing. Usually the sender is using bots, which are computers that are unprotected due to the ignorance of many computer owners. These computers that have been taken over to be used by the bad guys are the source of spam, denial of service attacks and phishing emails.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 2
Name: Mechanix2Go
Date: April 16, 2006 at 23:11:57 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

It's probably all but impossible to trace.

I recommend that you forward the email, with headers, to fraud.org


=====================================
If at first you don't succeed, you're about average.

M2Go



Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 3
Name: bofra
Date: April 17, 2006 at 07:50:48 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

email spam/scam, view source links
report, and delete from trash,

remove cookies etc.

try searching whois:
chase bank ~ jpmorgan.co

odd: exist as whole, but not
http://1108302210:5800/~(online.chase.com/index.php)

check link locations, often redirected,


example: says* <u>Log on to Chase Online.</u>

linked to:
http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=*.*...
SIG=148vsd1jp/EXP=1138544186/
**http%3a//gobest.idv.tw/~joy/.online-id.chase.com/index.php?
*.*...

tiawan


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 4
Name: Pistal
Date: April 17, 2006 at 10:38:32 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

It is just their practice, just block them, if you opened it, it would probably say if you don't have an account we will off one. Just spam it and don't bother with it.


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 5
Name: Derek
Date: April 18, 2006 at 16:43:29 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

Pistal

No, it is almost certainly "phishing". They want you to sign in (to some bogus website) and give all your personal data. It is serious crime, not some bank touting for business.

I've seen them "supposedly" from about every Bank, Ebay etc.

Put "Phishing" in Google to find out more.

DerekW


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal


Response Number 6
Name: Derek
Date: April 18, 2006 at 16:47:20 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

mlbauer

Be just as guarded if you get something like this from someone you do have an account with. They can look quite convincing.

If you are unsure contact them via "your usual link" and ask (not any link given in an email).

DerekW


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal

Response Number 7
Name: XpUser
Date: April 19, 2006 at 04:49:45 Pacific
Reply: (edit)

mlbauer

I never have received such email from Chase but I did from PayPal.

Post flashback...

E-mail from Paypal - Scam Warning

i_XpUser


Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home








Do you have your own blog?

Yes
No
I did before
I will soon


View Results

Poll Finishes In 4 Days.
Discuss in The Lounge
Poll History




Data Recovery Software