Computing.Net > Forums > Security and Virus > Akamaitechnolgies

Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to start participating now! Also, be sure to check out the New User Guide.

Akamaitechnolgies

Reply to Message Icon

Name: Ron
Date: October 31, 2002 at 20:15:02 Pacific
OS: xp
CPU/Ram: n/a
Comment:

What is this for and why are they connecting to my PC? I have read spyware and web page design and web hosting. Does anyone know for sure?



Sponsored Link
Ads by Google

Response Number 1
Name: ©
Date: October 31, 2002 at 20:24:39 Pacific
Reply:

alot of the adds you see on web pages are
being loaded by "them" , and unlike ad.doubleclick.com, if you block them, the page will not load, from what I've read.
unless you use something like dnskong.


0

Response Number 2
Name: hylian_lynk
Date: October 31, 2002 at 23:54:52 Pacific
Reply:

akamai is a company that has servers around the world. They host sites as well as do research ...


0

Response Number 3
Name: Ron
Date: November 1, 2002 at 03:37:06 Pacific
Reply:

OK thanks folks. I take it then they are a mix of good and bad.
Thanks
Ron


0

Sponsored Link
Ads by Google
Reply to Message Icon






Post Locked

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.


Go to Security and Virus Forum Home


Sponsored links

Ads by Google