Computer Problems? Computing.Net has over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Click here to start participating now! Also, check out the New User Guide.
AIM Virus
Name: Dude922 Date: February 1, 2004 at 11:29:02 Pacific OS: Windows ME CPU/Ram: 112 MB
Comment:
I downloaded a file when something like this came up on an AOL Instant Messenger message- "interesting, http://169.254.64.198:8180" I downloaded a file named something like this- psecure20x-cgi-install.version6.01.bin.hx.com was what i downloaded...I can't find this on my computer when i search through files and folders but I know it's there because it nows sends itself to others that I talk to.
Name: pbuyse2 Date: February 2, 2004 at 03:20:02 Pacific
Reply:
Let me get this straight, you get a msg on your Aol Messenger with a file. You go ahead and download the file and open it ? No wonder your pc may have gotten a virus. Did you know who sent you the file at all ? First lesson in internet security, DO NOT open files from unknown sources. Anyway, for the rest i can not help you, just wanted to get this said.
0
Response Number 2
Name: backdoor2 Date: February 6, 2004 at 09:44:16 Pacific
Reply:
Hi, I got the same virus too, but I dont remember downloading anything. In addition, I don't know if this is affected by the same thing, but when I start up my machine (XP) the C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder opens automatically. Anyway, I just searched for that psecure20x-cgi-install.version6.01.bin.hx.com file and it happens to be in the C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder also. Check if its in that folder, and lemme know.
Summary: for aim virus download and run aimfix http://www.jayloden.com/aimfix.htm for spyware and other viruses try an online scan at http://housecall60.trendmicro.com/en/start_corp.asp?id=scan run the complet...
Summary: The aim virus that sends everyone on ur list that virus. I believe its the myspace.php file or something along those lines- i have tried all the aim fixs that are offered from jloden and several other...
Summary: Hey guys I'm new to this board so you guys have hopefully heard of this virus. It's on my AIM, and I clicked on someone's "subprofile" and a download thing came on and i clicked open to comptuter bein...