|
| Computing.Net: Over 1,000,000 posts about all things technology related! Over 90% answered within 24 hours! Click here to sign up now, it's free! |
AIM 5.5 VIRUS.. please help!!!
|
Original Message
|
Name: teckniks
Date: February 10, 2004 at 15:05:18 Pacific
Subject: AIM 5.5 VIRUS.. please help!!! OS: XP CPU/Ram: 1.1ghz amd , 512sdram
|
Comment: i just installed aim 5.5 and now im sending everyone on my buddylist a link www.wugtv.com/sd32fs/OSAMA.html .. well its something like that. it doesnt show me sending the link.. so its really frustrating explaining to 70 people whast going on.. i had no problems with 5.2 until i just installed aim 5.5.. please help!!!
Report Offensive Message For Removal
|
|
Response Number 1
|
Name: smashley
Date: February 10, 2004 at 15:20:15 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)My friend sent me the same link... and I clicked on it, therefore I think I have the virus now too. But I have the 5.2 version. Can someone help?
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 2
|
Name: etan7501
Date: February 10, 2004 at 17:20:27 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)The following link might help you with your virus issue: http://www.aim.com/help_faq/security/trojan.adp Remember to always download Windows Updates. For there are known security leaks that allows someone to gain access to your AIM without you knowing. Hope this helps.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 3
|
Name: etan7501
Date: February 10, 2004 at 17:26:17 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)http://www.aim.com/help_faq/security/trojan.adp Try the link above to help solve your virus issue. Another suggestion is to continue to download updates for Windows. There are known security leaks that allows someone to gain access to your AIM. Hope that helps.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 4
|
Name: Ashley Fontenot
Date: February 10, 2004 at 19:44:56 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)OMG, Ok, I clicked on this link taht my friend sent saying "Check this out: http://www.wgutv.com/osama_capture.php?UO76 " and then I d/led the game (stupidly). Now my s/n keeps sending out the same message to everyone on my buddylist. I went to Control panel->Add/remove Programs and removed what I believe to be the culperate (called: Buddylinks Messaging Integration) but a few hours later I was booted of AIM and when I signed back on, it was back. The "buddylinks Messaging integration" was also back on my Add/remove programs. I need a permanent solution!! Please help
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 5
|
Name: etan7501
Date: February 10, 2004 at 21:23:57 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)Ok. Install the latest version of Ad-Aware from http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/. Then do a scan and remove any spyware the program has found. After you do that. Post again for further intsructions.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 6
|
Name: barnbrat82
Date: February 10, 2004 at 21:40:05 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit) I too got the exact same virus. I intalled and ran that Ad-ware program and it found and removed like 24 files. Now what? Thanks!
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 7
|
Name: teckniks
Date: February 10, 2004 at 21:48:35 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)thanks for replying guys. i followed the intructions on the aim.com/trogans site .. adware found some links in my mydocuments/favorites folder ... i downloaded and installed the latest windows updates, and virus names for norton antivirus.... i also uninstalled buddy intergation link crap .. now i have no idea if i still have the virus or not..
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 8
|
Name: phishiznit
Date: February 11, 2004 at 12:41:51 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_101007.htm found this on network associates. its not a virus or a trojan afterall...
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 9
|
Name: neveaire
Date: February 11, 2004 at 13:39:08 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)This is not caused by AIM. If you went this web page: http://www.wgutv.com/osama_capture.php?W7j8 it tries to install something that allows you to play some game. In reality, this program is some messed up scheme to make money by a company called Buddylinks. Buddylinks.net makes a "social network marketing" program that takes your AIM buddy list and sends an IM to everyone on it with a link that looks like it's from you. When people reach the page, they download the activeX control and it starts spamming. I've been hit several times already by others. To remove this piece of crap go here: http://www.buddylinks.net/uninstall.exe There is some info on this page: http://www.wgutv.com/terms.html The site is busy because of all the traffic this is generating. I'd call this a Trojan if anything...
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 10
|
Name: etan7501
Date: February 11, 2004 at 14:28:39 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)For 'teckniks' up there and anybody else... To "really" find out if you have a virus or not. You can go to www.pcpitstop.com. On this website you can do various scans for any kind of problems that might exist. Then they give you helpful hints on how to improve your system and/or remove viruses if you still have them. Any more questions, just continue to post.
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 11
|
Name: RandomGuy16
Date: February 11, 2004 at 14:33:56 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)i think its gone :-) thank god.......it been bothering so many people and i must have givin it to 20 sn's
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|
|
Response Number 12
|
Name: JasonWhiteman
Date: February 14, 2004 at 18:26:50 Pacific
|
Reply: (edit)http://www.infestednexus.co.nr/buddylinksremover.zip Phew, after I saw this virus spread like mad I finally found a remover, and it also has a utility that prevents you from being sent any 'buddylinks' virus' in the future! Cheers! Jason
Report Offensive Follow Up For Removal
|

Post Locked
This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
Go to Security and Virus Forum Home
|
|
|