Move Outlook without redownloading emails

Microsoft Outlook 2007
January 21, 2011 at 09:50:37
Specs: Windows 7
I need to reinstall Outlook 2007, keeping my old PST file. When I've done this before, the new installation of Outlook re-downloads all the emails that I've purposely left on the server, so that I now have two copies of every old email (one is read, the other unread). Where is this information stored that tells Outlook what emails have already been downloaded? Is there a way to tell Outlook NOT to download any old emails that are on the server?

See More: Move Outlook without redownloading emails

Report •

January 21, 2011 at 11:35:40
Typically none of those emails are stored locally windows will only pull emails when you go to open them otherwise all your computer is download is the title subject and some other misc email info. The actual message is downloaded when you open it. This does not apply to PST files.

Report •

January 22, 2011 at 16:53:10
Addressing a "New" installation and Outlook profile, If your current Outlook configuration is set to leave the messages on the server and not delete them after a specific time period (or if emptied from the Deleted items,) then they will indeed download again.

You'd have to change the account configuration to say Leave messages on the server and remove after 1 day. Then, download your messages and don't configure the new Outlook until 24 hours later.

However....since you say all you're doing is reinstalling Outlook, then you in theory won't be creating a new Outlook profile. So the configuration for leaving messages on the server will not result in the messages being downloaded again.

Just out of curiosity, why do you need to reinstall Outlook?

Report •

Related Solutions

Ask Question