Excel file issue

Microsoft Excel 2003 (full product)
February 23, 2010 at 12:20:47
Specs: n/a, n/a
We have a document that's stored on a network share. It's an excel sheet with multiple tabs.

Recently the document was moved from it's original location on a server onto our new SAN/NAS.

Since the move, whenever I edit the file and I go to save a window pops up asking me if I want to either:

1) Save a copy
or
2) Overwrite

This never used to come up. When I click the "Save" button, I just want it to save and overwrite automatically.

Anybody have any ideas I can try?

TIA.


See More: Excel file issue

Report •


#1
February 23, 2010 at 18:15:12
Can you tell "who" is popping up the window?

Is it Excel or your OS (I never heard of n/a as an OS) or the server or...?

BTW, I've been out of the Data Center world for a while, but isn't a SAN different than a NAS? Have they been integrated into a SAN/NAS recently?


Report •

#2
February 24, 2010 at 06:04:38
Can you tell "who" is popping up the window?

Is it Excel or your OS (I never heard of n/a as an OS) or the server or...?

I'm pretty sure it's Excel opening the tiny window. I'll do a screenshot once I get to work and post a link to that here so you can see for yourself.

As to the OS field, I use XP Pro to connect to the network drive. The OS the SAN/NAS is using is a proprietary linux/UNIX derivative.


BTW, I've been out of the Data Center world for a while, but isn't a SAN different than a NAS? Have they been integrated into a SAN/NAS recently?

Yep, the two are slightly different. However, we spent over 1 million on ours and it does both. This isn't some D-Link NAS that you can pick up for a couple hundred.....lol

The network drive I'm talking about is stored on the SAN portion of the SAN/NAS. I have a mapping to that drive on my PC that I click on and voila, I'm into the data stored on it. Just like I used to be when I clicked on the the drive that pointed to the server that used to have that same data stored on it prior to moving the data to the SAN/NAS.

Typically a NAS is storage only, no read/write access like the SAN side.



Report •

#3
February 24, 2010 at 07:30:04
Here's the window that pops up:


http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/...

It's worth noting that I can hit save, select the "overwrite" option and then hit save again immediately, and that window will pop up again.

I've tried saving a copy to my local PC, then deleting the one in the network drive and copying/moving the one on my PC back and it made no difference.


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
February 24, 2010 at 19:09:58
Could this be the issue?

Report •

#5
February 25, 2010 at 07:21:16
Thanks for that. I'm pretty sure it is the issue as per the following from that page:

This can occur more frequently if the file is located on Network Appliance (NetAPP) storage device or across a Wide Area Network (WAN).

The SAN/NAS the file is stored on is a network appliance storage device. However, the registry hack didn't fix it so I'm going to try the hotfix's and see if they're do the trick.

Thanks for the help DerbyDad03, I appreciate it!


Report •

#6
February 25, 2010 at 08:13:51
Have you contacted your IT department (assuming you're not it!)?

Maybe you are not the only one having this problem and they either need to hear it more often before they will act on it or they don't even know about it but will take action once it's pointed out.


Report •

#7
February 26, 2010 at 08:36:01
I am part of the IT department and have talked to the people I needed to about this and they have no clue. I thought it might have been a permission issue but after reading that article you linked, I figure that's why it isn't working as all the pieces fit admirably.

It may end up being something I just have to live with.


Report •

#8
February 26, 2010 at 08:42:57
I hate having to live with things like that.

I hate knowing that there's a fix somewhere, but either can't find it or can't find anyone to implement it.

Good luck!


Report •


Ask Question