Articles

Clip Art Problem(Wav Preview)

September 27, 2009 at 20:39:16
Specs: Windows Vista

When attempting to search in any office program for clip art, the clip art shows up as an Wav file with the wav icon, but no preview of the picture.

To view the picture you must put it in your document to see it...no thumbnail preview...

This is only on some computers out of 26. Office was reinstalled and it still didnt not work.

BUT...this WILL work under Administrator account but not under what we named "student" which does have Power User rights.

These are school computers so we dont have them login as adminstrator.

Anyone else have this problem or know how to solve it?

I went to Explorer and went Tools>Folder Options>File Type and checked the file type but its the same as a working computer for what program will open the extention.

Thank you,
Guneet


See More: Clip Art Problem(Wav Preview)

Report •


#1
September 28, 2009 at 06:07:22

Did you check the actual files themselves to see what program is listed to open the file in the properties section.

MIKE

http://www.skeptic.com/


Report •

#2
September 28, 2009 at 20:46:38

Hi , thanks for your response. Yeh i checked that one as well, it shows in a target location as a paint file similar to other computers but on that machine in microsoft word , clip art , it doesnt show the clip art image , it shows wav icon on it . I can't figure it out ..

Report •

#3
September 29, 2009 at 07:37:35

Try changing just the WAV extension on the filename to GIF, or JPG or BMP or WMF or MID as those are the five filename extensions in my clipart directory and see if that helps.

MIKE

http://www.skeptic.com/


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
September 29, 2009 at 08:16:31

Hi,

This Microsoft article appears to describe your problem and has some solutions.

When you preview the thumbnail images in the Clip Art task pane, a Microsoft Windows Media Player icon appears instead of a preview of the actual image.


Regards


Report •

#5
September 29, 2009 at 19:53:29

The extension of the clip art files is *.wmf but it just shows the wav icon instead of the image. Its really annoying. I checked all the settings which are similar to other pc's , even the file extension is same.

Report •

#6
September 29, 2009 at 20:21:27

When you checked the properties of the target .wmf file

I.E.

Right click on file name
Select Properties

What does it give as the Opens With program.

All of mine show as Windows Picture and Fax Viewer

MIKE

http://www.skeptic.com/


Report •

#7
September 29, 2009 at 20:43:49

Hi Mike , I already checked the properties of teh target location , it shows only 2 programs Microsoft Offive Picture Manager and paint. It doesnt matter which ever i select , doesnt make any differnce on teh front end . Restarted it , it still shows the wav file .

Report •

#8
September 30, 2009 at 05:13:28

Hi,

Did you look at the Microsoft article referred to in response #4.

Regards


Report •


Ask Question