System Restore and SIDs

February 20, 2009 at 11:07:30
Specs: Windows XP
So I have a great question. We all know the issue with SIDs and cloning machines. So here is the scenario: We cloned a bunch of machines and didn't change the SIDs. They were joined to the domain and only one specific user uses each machine. So short of reimaging and then changing the SIDs again, can system restore roll the machine back to just after I finished updating the machine and before i joined it to the machine. But question is will it also revert back all of the registry and pertinent information relating to the SIDs? Or Is it not that powerful.

See More: System Restore and SIDs

Report •


#1
February 20, 2009 at 11:18:44
Microsofts System Restore also takes a snapshot of the Registry.
So when you revert to a state before changing SID, you'll get back the old SID.

Please send a reply, if you solved the problem !!!


Report •

#2
February 20, 2009 at 11:23:37
so how is it if you have a profile with files on let's say the desktop, when you roll back, current files are still there.. they don't get deleted. In other words it doesn't seem like a true snapshot restore. Am I wrong?

Report •

#3
February 20, 2009 at 11:28:25
The files in the Documents and Settings are not lost after a System Restore, but e.g. ntuser.dat will be restored. This file is located in the Documents and Settings Users home directory.

Please send a reply, if you solved the problem !!!


Report •

Related Solutions


Ask Question