roaming profiles

June 11, 2009 at 05:58:10
Specs: server 2003
i have created a roaming profile of users through active directory.for this i created a shared folder on server with full permission.when i create user throug active directory.i set profile path in user for example for rajesh (profile path will be \\file-server\share folder name\rajesh .)

when i login on client system after joing computer with domain it logs.and we lof off then it transfer all data to server.also it leaves copy of data on local computer.i do not want that a roaming profile to leave a copy on local computer.

and second thing is when i log off then it transfer all data to server.i want to transfer data while user creating at the same time to the server not the time of log off.can we synchronise all data from client to server when user create it in real time.i means at the same timme when it creates any file on his computer.

See More: roaming profiles

Report •

June 11, 2009 at 06:50:00
This is normal behavior for Roaming Profiles.


Report •

June 11, 2009 at 21:31:39
so what should i do.i do not ant to leave data to leave on local computer too.and also can user directly access to server.

Report •

June 13, 2009 at 03:58:39
You can configure your Active Directory Group Policies to delete local copies of Roaming Profiles.

This feature is found in the Computer Configuration->Administrative Templates->System->User Profiles->Delete cached copies of Roaming Profiles of the GPO.

Roaming profiles work by the following...
User logs into station, their Roaming Profile is copied from the server to the local C:\Documents and Settings\%username% folder. The station Operating System uses the local Profile settings during the users session.
When the user logs off, the local copy of the Profile is copied back to the servers Roaming Profile location (I.e. \\serverename\profiles$\%username%) overwriting it and saving any profile changes.

There is no other way for Roaming Profiles to operate I'm affraid.

Hope this helps.

Report •

Related Solutions

June 13, 2009 at 04:13:08
when we log off then it transfer all data to their is chance of loosing data.can we store data directly on the server when users create it not the time of logging off.can users direct access to server.please help me.i will be very thankfull to you.

Report •

June 13, 2009 at 08:05:36
What specific data in the profile are you concerned about losing?

Corrupt profiles can be common in large scale Roaming Profile deployments. It is best not to depend on the profiles to contain important data such as My Documents.

You could use Folder Redirection, again within Active Directory Group Policies to redirect profile data such as Favourites and My Documents, etc.

User data (My Documents) is the most important data your users could lose. If you don't already I would setup a shared folder somewhere on your file server i.e. \\servername\userhome$.
Then within each of your user accounts in Active Directory, configure them to map the home area to a drive letter of your choice using whichever folder share you have just made. I.e. \\servername\userhome$\%username% (the %username% will automatically create a folder within that share named with the username i.e. jbrown).
Then use Folder Redirection to tell My Documents to point to the home area drive letter you have chosen i.e. N:\

Then when the users logon they will have a new drive in My Computer (N:\ or whatever) and their My Documents will be pointing to that location. That folder will be permenantly located on the server but users will be able to access files as if they were stored on their PCs (as long as the server is online).

Does that make sense?
Other than that I don't understand what other data you could be concerned about losing.

IT Services Manager

Report •

June 15, 2009 at 01:35:03
thanks for your reply.i have comfigure folder redirectoin.its working well.but after creating folder redirection each file and folder have synchrinisation symbol on each file.can we remove that symbol.

Report •

June 16, 2009 at 11:30:06
On the file server find to user home folder share.
Right click on the folder and select "Sharing and Security".

Click the "Caching" button.
Make sure the top radio button is selected... "Only the files and programs that the user specifies will be available offline".
Click "OK" then "OK" again.

That should do it.

IT Services Manager

Report •

Ask Question