How do I delete workgroups

January 23, 2006 at 13:09:12
Specs: xp, several

I have set up a workgroup with my 4 computers to allow printerand file sharing.How do I get rid of it once I set it up...I do not want to use them this way anymore. I have all hooked to the same wireless router except my laptop.

Thanks

Geoffy


See More: How do I delete workgroups

Report •


#1
January 23, 2006 at 13:38:56

Right click my computer, go to properties, click the computer name tab, select the change button, and change your workgroup name, then apply changes and restart. You should also go ahead and turn off any and all sharing of hardware devices. Specifically, turn the sharing off of the printer by going to the control panel, opening printers, right clicking the shared printer, select sharing and make sure the do not share this printer radio button is selected.

To get rid of any mapped drives, just go to my computer and right click the mapped drive, then select the disconnect option. Hope that helps.


Report •

#2
January 23, 2006 at 21:32:22

You can make sure that no file / printer sharing traffic gets through by blocking that traffic with Windows Firewall your router or another firewall. For Windows Firewall, open the firewall from the control panel (make sure the firewall is turned on in the General tab) open the Exceptions tab and un-check the box at file and print sharing.

Report •

Related Solutions


Ask Question