Opinion Pros & Cons of a Netbook Purchase

May 20, 2010 at 13:35:57
Specs: Windows 7, AMD Athlon x2 5200+ / 2GB Kingston DDR2-800
Good day,

I had been planning on gettting myself one of those neat ultra-portable computers for some time, and I've decided to actually get one now.
I'd say my main uses for it will be programming and trying out different operating systems (mostly linux), but I wouldn't mind to play an occasional windows game :) ,but still, my main demand would be a very good battery life and a comfortable keyboard. After some research, I've come down to the Asus Eee PC 1005PE but, not being an expert, I'm not sure if it's the right choice.

Could you offer me some suggestions?

Best Regards and Thanks in Advance!

AMD ATHLON X2 5200+ 2.6GHz
ASUS GeForce 8600GTS
ASUS M2N-E SLI MB
2xKingston 1GB DDR2 800


See More: Opinion Pros & Cons of a Netbook Purchase

Report •


#1
May 20, 2010 at 14:28:44
If you really mean you want to buy a netbook, and not a notebook, save your money. You won't be able to do any of those things on a netbook.

Report •

#2
May 20, 2010 at 15:49:28
Netbooks S-u-c-k, but just a lot. Too small, too underpowered, they don't last. Don't waste your $.

Just another stupid saying...


Report •

#3
May 20, 2010 at 15:49:47
That was a bit vague, can you please elaborate? I only mentioned relatively simple computing tasks, whats the problem with netbooks?

AMD ATHLON X2 5200+ 2.6GHz
ASUS GeForce 8600GTS
ASUS M2N-E SLI MB
2xKingston 1GB DDR2 800


Report •

Related Solutions

#4
May 20, 2010 at 18:16:56
Deimos,

I'm not sure if you were referring to my comment or grasshoppers, but, here's the bottom line: You get what you pay for: http://www.netbooklaptopreviews.com...

I haven't used a Netbook exclusively, as I have 6 laptops ranging in size from older, bulkier to newer ThinkPads and Dell Latitudes. The smallest laptop (Latitude) I have has a 12.1" screen. It's small, a little slow, has weak sound (1 speaker), weak video, no built in DVD/CD/Floppy peripherals but I can attach them via a cable if needed. Netbooks are SMALLER than this. I have worked ON Netbooks (I do I.T. support). They are tiny,TI-NY! They're slow, SAH-LOOooowwwww and take forever to boot and work on. They're cheap, CHEEEEEP! I hate 'em! One user I know picked up his 3 month old unit one day by the LCD screen and it fell apart.

In our fast, faster, fastest give it to me NOW at the snap of a finger, always on digital world, people want faster computers & software. The Netbook is a step BACKWARDS IMHO. Software isn't gettting faster - it's more bloated, complex and heavier than ever. I downloaded Service Pack 2 for Office 2007 the other day – it’s 290 Mb all by itself! The original typical Full install for Office 97 was only about 125 Mb.

High performance computer systems are getting faster, but they NEED to get faster to handle bloated, crummy software. The bigger your box (PC), the faster it usually is. A server is faster than a workstation, which faster than a business class PC, which is faster than a home class PC, which is faster than a business class laptop, which is faster than a home class laptop. And then you have Netbooks...donkeys. Good luck.


Just another stupid saying...


Report •

#5
May 20, 2010 at 18:45:36
I'm not a fan of netbooks either. Weak CPU, weak graphics, small keyboard, small screen, no optical drive...the only thing they have going for them is long battery life. I guess they're OK as long as you stick to what they're marketed for.

Report •

#6
May 21, 2010 at 06:39:19
Lacking of an optical drive and possibly keyboard mapping may
be a problem if used for programming. Otherwise usable within
limits. Have a lot of flash drives available.

Report •

#7
May 21, 2010 at 08:19:06
First of all, thank you very much for your replies, they were all helpful (Special thanks to you, PC GEEK for posting with such detail). Considering you were all pretty much unanimous, I've decided not to get the netbook after all. I sure am glad I've posted here, it kept me from wasting a considerable amount of money.
I'll do some research regarding the purchase of an actual laptop. Do feel free to drop some suggestions here, my demands remain the same. :)

Thank You Very Much and Best Regards,
Deimos

AMD ATHLON X2 5200+ 2.6GHz
ASUS GeForce 8600GTS
ASUS M2N-E SLI MB
2xKingston 1GB DDR2 800


Report •

#8
May 21, 2010 at 10:21:14
YQW Deimos....Oh and BTW, laptops suck too, but they suck less than netbooks.

Just another stupid saying...


Report •

#9
May 21, 2010 at 10:37:11
"laptops suck too, but they suck less than netbooks."

Yeah, right. :-/
Desktops also suck, but they suck less than laptops.

Super PIII | Unlocked ES Tualatin @ 1.8GHz (150x12, 1.65v), 512K L2
2GB PC2700 | 500GB | Radeon x1950Pro | Apollo Pro 266T | Win7 Pro


Report •

#10
May 23, 2010 at 01:27:15
So, what doesn't suck? The Cray Jaguar? Our brain? x)

AMD ATHLON X2 5200+ 2.6GHz
ASUS GeForce 8600GTS
ASUS M2N-E SLI MB
2xKingston 1GB DDR2 800


Report •

#11
May 23, 2010 at 11:04:45
Nah, the CRAY JAG sucks too - sucks a lot of power! Ha ha...and is a tad pricey.

Our brains don't suck, I think, I mean when we actually use them as a species.

Just another stupid saying...


Report •


Ask Question