|A factory restore/reset does two thungs.|
It restores the system to as it was when new, restoring the OS and (depending on the way that routine is preset by the manufacturer) will also restore any bundled applications etc.
BUT it will also erase all personal files in the process. So - as advised earlier - if there is information you really don't want to lose (and clearly that would seem to be case) then first safeguard it. Probably you need a little guidance for that, and if so, then post back and pholks here will guide you through it.
Have you managed to boot the system at all, even into safe-mode (press F8 after the initial Acer splash screen to access a menu that allows you to select Safe mode).
Again do not go for a factory restore until you have safeguarded your personal files (and "mum's" files too).
message edited by trvlr