Solved How do I do a factory reset?

June 1, 2014 at 10:17:49
Specs: Windows Vista
I have an Advent 9117 and I would like to reset it back to the state it was, when I bought it. How do I do it?

See More: How do I do a factory reset?

Report •

June 1, 2014 at 10:47:20
✔ Best Answer
Its amazing what google can do

go to the bottom of this link

A thank you would be nice, if I have helped.

Report •

June 1, 2014 at 11:09:15
Thank you so much for your very quick response Clive. I'm busy doing a full destructive recovery now thanks to you. I appreciate your help. Best wishes.

Report •

June 1, 2014 at 11:09:52
But be aware that it will erase "all" your personal file in the process. So if their is anything on the hard drive you wouldn't like to lose..., first copy it off the drive to external storage. The usual first option is of course DVD and when you make the copies, check they are accessible on your system as is - and ideally one other. Then put somewhere safe... If you have a spare (external) hard drive, copy them to that too. Useful to have two different storage media whenever possible...

Also get into the habit of having copies of all your "stuff" off the system at any time; just in-case things go awry/wrong and you can't access your personal stuff...

After making your copies at this time, do the reset - if really needed...

Why the need for the reset?

Report •

Related Solutions

June 1, 2014 at 11:16:25
Thanks, trvlr, I was hoping to throw the laptop out as I have a new one, but have decided to let my niece use it for homework. Just want to make sure there's nothing on there. Thanks again.

Report •

June 2, 2014 at 03:16:24
Hi Suzi, going to this level may be creating problems for yourself.

You could be losing all sorts of important files, which than have to be re-installed in order for the laptop to run correctly/upto date. e.g:-
os updates
backup/delivery security (is there more than a one disk partition?)
personalization setups

backup everything elsewhere
just delete your personal files
empty the re-cycle bin
run a disk fragmentation - which more than likely will move kept files into spaces left by deleted files.

Good Luck - Keep us posted.

Report •

June 2, 2014 at 05:45:50
Much inclined to agree with Mike (#5) overall... Ought to be sufficient for what you wish; and with no loss of updates and other "possibly critical" files/software registrations etc...? This especially as the laptop will be remaining "in-house" as it were... Overall a far simpler solution?

A wee clarification on the term "backup"...

What the majority of users mean these days - when they suggest "backup" - is "copy" all important files etc. off the system entirely (as in my earlier posts here). These copies are immediately and readily available and accessible by almost any system that can read the file format.

A true "backup" is actually quite different. It is not a copy of the files as above; but is instead a series of data streams (or code) that cannot be immediately or easily accessed and read by another compatible OS. It (a true backup) can be accessed and read by an OS that is able to recognise it; but it requires a little more know-how on the part of the user...

Windows OS do include a basic "backup" utility as per these days; and there are assorted third-party utilities around too. These latter utilities provide/allow more options and are often used by those in a more demanding environment; or at least those with a little more knowledge of (interest in) data security etc. - including saving completely a version of the installation which could be re-installed at a later date.

To summarise: Backups are "in code" - cannot be read by anyone immediately. Whereas copies are the actual files themselves - which can be accessed/read immediately on any compatible system.

If you have an personal details you'd rather not have "daughter" accessing - e.g. your user login account etc... - they can be deleted - via the Admin login. You would first (via the Admin account) create a new user account for "daughter" and then delete "your" user account. But it would be wise I suggest to ensure you are still (always) able to login as Admin at any time...; both via the Admin account and also perhaps via a new account for yourself that has full Admin privileges...

Report •

Ask Question