Tom's Guide | Tom's Hardware | Tom's Games
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Hmm-m-m..nice surprise! I was just going to upgrade my True Image from the previous version... and to pay the regular price, but here’s what I came across http://www.acronis.net/ati4free $9.99, I can’t believe it!

Look out where you surf the net. The home page URL for Acronis is www.acronis.com, not www.acronis.net.
i_Xp/VistaUser

I think you can be reasonably safe. The checkout is shop.acronis.com and the SSL digital signature issued by Equifax checks out. It is sold through Digital River which is reputable company I have had many dealings with before.
Stuart

From the message it appears Acronis MAY be getting ready to release a newer version and MAY offer free upgrade to some users.
However, this offer states you may not be eligible for a free upgrade if it is released within 30 days of your purchase.
If legitimate, which from Stuart's post it appears to be, it is still a good deal.
cnf
I am curious as to why you feel the need to upgrade from the previous version? Additionally, don't pay the list price from Acronis. Many vendors routinely carry True Image at deep discounts. Look at the link below.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...
Assuming they don't scalp you for shipping.

Guys, as I understand it, .com and .net are the same, if you click buy now it leads you to shop.acronis.com at digital river, which as I understand it is their e-commerce platform, so it should be legal!

Did you look up Whois for http://acronis.net? If you did you would have discovered that Acronis.net is registered in Russia to a firm named Acronis LLC. The legitimate name of Acronis is Acronis Inc., and it is registered to Acronis in Massachusetts, USA.
Oh well it's your money and your credit. I'll take a pass on this one so that I can sleep peacefully at nights. Good luck.
i_Xp/VistaUser

Hmmm, interesting. Maybe someone should notify Acronis about this. Although they are probably already aware.

cnf, .com and .net are not the same. I really was interested in knowing what features True Image offered that you don't currently have. Is it support for Vista?
I ask because I don't upgrade just to upgrade. I need new features or the need to support the OS I am currently running.

There's a lot of similarities between cnf--the poster here--and jaga here:
http://forums.techarena.in/windows-...
Cnf says 'I can't believe it!" Jaga says "These guys are crazy!" And post #5 here is exactly the same as #8 there.
Maybe it's just me but when I hear someone express astonishment over the price of this or that or the sanity of those selling it I think of used car ads or late night infomercials.

DAVEINCAPS
This thread is starting to make some sense. That would explain why cnf would not answer my question about updating.

Yeah, if you do a google search for acronis.net $9.99 all the hits except wilderssecurity were initiated by someone expressing amazement at the price. I wonder what his commission is (assuming it's legit).

Credit card scam???? I think so.
"Best Practices", Event viewer, host file, perfmon, antivirus, anti-spyware, Live CD's, backups, are in my top 10

I'm with Othehill. Don't upgrade unless it adds some function that you need.
In other words, if it ain't broke ...

hmmm maybe they just realised they lost 10k d/l sales, & decided to cut n run 11.0.8101 is popular i see.

OtheHill, i can answer your question about new features:
1) ATI 11 supports Vista
2) other new features:
Try&Decide™
Test new software or browse the web in a protected, safe environment. At the end of the session, you decide whether to keep or discard the changes made to your system.Security and privacy tools
Use Acronis® Drive Cleanser, File Shredder and System Clean-up utilities to protect your privacy by safely destroying sensitive data, cleaning up your system, or securely wiping the entire hard drive.
to others:
it is not so strange, that you see many threads over the internet about "ATI for 10$" because it is Acronis' promo action, and if you continue looking through the Internet, you will see many good thoughts about this.
for example:
http://forums.anandtech.com/message...

I suppose it's legit, if only because the site is still up. What bothered me is how so many of the posters on the various sites sounded like they were trying to sell it. It's like someone sent out talking points on what to say. In which case it's not an innocent, "Hey guy, look what I found" but rather a marketing scheme. I'm not necessarily saying that's the case here. But when I hear phrases like "I can't believe it", "they must be crazy", "how do they make money on this" my BS detector goes off. All the initial postings were within a few hours of each other and sounded alike. You've got to have some skepticism when you see that.

DAVEINCAPS
I think your logic is faulty. Who is going to take the site down? By that logic we should be able to get all malware/virus sites taken down.
I think it is a scam. If they send you anything it is probably pirated.
If Acronis was willing to sell their product at a deep discount why would they not do it on their own site.

I agree with OtheHill. Take a look at the official Acronis page below. You will notice that the upgrade cost $29.99 plus S&H.
http://shop.acronis.com/dr/v2/ec_Ma...
cnf - are you working for the pirates out in Russia? What's your cut for every copy sold?
i_Xp/VistaUser

You've got a point. I was basing that on the dozen or so phishing emails from fake bank of america sites as well as paypal/ebay. In all instances those sites were down within a day or two after I, or other recipients, had notified the real sites.
But those were fake sites pretending to be legitimate. That's different than a site selling pirated software and I noticed the acronis.net site doesn't say it is the actual acronis site.
I did just find this:
http://shop.acronis.com/dr/v2/ec_Ma...
where it shows $9.99 for a full version download as a direct link from www.acronis.com. So I think the offer is real but I'll grant you that acronis.net is still questionable.

You can download a full trial version of Acronis from their website for free. It only works for 15 days. Perhaps what you found is a redirect to the trial version.
If a known pirate site was located in the USA then possibly Acronis could have it taken down by legal means. This site is evidently located in Russia.

OK, maybe I'm looking at that wrong. Looks like you have to buy both the 9.99 and 29.99 downloads. If you can't get just one, why do they list them separately?

Take a look at acronis.com page again. Notice that there is $29.99 for the upgrade version and $49.99 for the full version. Where does it say $9.99?
i_Xp/VistaUser

OK, I don't know what's going on. I swear, the first time I was at the page I linked to in #19 there were 2 X'd downloads. The first for 9.99 and the second, described as the upgrade, for 29.99. You had to accept both to continue. Now only the 29.99 upgrade shows.

. . . And now the 2 X'd offers are back but the one I saw as 9.99 is now 49.99. Maybe they were editing that page as we were posting.

For anyone that's interested in obtaining Acronis for $9.99 with the 15 day free trial period it is being hosted at softpedia.
As far as I can tell softpedia is a reputable site, anyways here's the link:

Heya O'tH,
I was making reference more to the sale cost of $9.99US which softpedia is claiming is an 80% discount.
I thought though that it was possible because it was a beta release which aren't always as stable.
*shrugs*
It seemed pretty good to me.

It is a scam.
edit
Look at the link to Acronis's site. Trueimage 11 home has a FREE trial.
IMO the softpedia link is also a ripoff. If Acronis offers a free trial I would bet the link you sited simply links you to the Acronis site. That is, AFTER you pay your $9.99.
The original site may be the same or may be pirated keys for full install.
The trial version at Acronis is a full working version. I don't know what good it will be if you can't use it to restore after the trial period. That is why they can allow the full featured version for trial download.

Ahhh.... I see, It's really getting hard to know who to trust these days.
I guess it really pays to go to the source.
Cheers O'tH

Recently I came across an article on Windowssecrets.com (http://windowssecrets.com/2008/10/16/04-Are-criticisms-of-Vista-bogus-or-legitimate) here it is:
"While on a tech chat with Acronis one day recently, they told me to go to [www.allacronis.com]. Turns out, on that site they offer to give you — yes, give you — version 8 [of True Image] for free, then tell you that you can upgrade to the current version 11 for only $30 instead of the retail $50 or common street price of $35 to $40. And you don't even have to install it (version 8), just get a free key from them to qualify for the upgrade. Here's their page telling about it [www.allacronis.com/personal.php"

lisja4ij
If this offer is legitimate then I would suggest anyone interested do this. Go to the link mentioned in #30 and get the install key osted there. Then go to the site below and order the upgrade version of Trueimage 2009. If this is a legitimate deal the key will allow you to use the upgrade version for $29.99. That site is not linked to the other, to the best of my knowledge. As always, buyer beware.

![]() |
slave drive
|
Not ATAPI Compatible erro...
|

This post is quite old and has been locked from receiving new replies. Please create a new posting instead.
| Ads by Google |