Video Card Upgrade Opinion

March 17, 2012 at 16:03:58
Specs: Windows 7 Untimate, 8GB
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
MoBo : Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2666MHz
Physical Memory : 8192MB (4 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+

I am looking to upgrade my video card because my 9800 just isnt holding up as much as it used to and here are my questions. Would my system handle one of the newer video cards or do I need to upgrade to one of the new "i" systems. If yes then, is there a number too high that my system is just going to hold it back and make it not worth the purchase? how high on the Nvidia number chart do I need to go to get more performance then the 9800 gtx+, enough to make it worth the upgrade that is?

For instance, would this card be enough power advantage to be worth the purchase and yet my system would be enough to allow it to perform to it's fullest?

Thank you in advance.

See More: Video Card Upgrade Opinion

Report •

March 17, 2012 at 16:06:35
Oh and I have a Corsair GS700 PSU

Report •

March 17, 2012 at 17:01:49
Have a look at the following chart. It says that if there isn't at least a 3 tier difference between the cards, the upgrade probably isn't worthwhile. Guess what? Only one tier difference:

Report •

March 17, 2012 at 19:22:23
Great chart thank you. So I would start by counting the tier above mine or including mine? Now, if I decided to get an ATI card, I am guessing the chart works as such that my tier nvidia card is equivilant to the ATI tier accross from mine and I would count up the same? and again thanks for the help.

If the chart worls the way I think it does, the following would be the groups I should buy from. Would my system hinder these cards in a way that cause them to not perform any better then say a tier or two higher then mine?

Discrete: GTX 470, GTX 560 Ti, GTX 560 Ti 448 Core

Discrete: HD 4850 X2, HD 5870, HD 6950

Sorry, I just get so confused on all this bottlenecking mumbo jumbo that I keep reading everywhere about video cards/cpus or ram/cpus. Used to be easier when I just figured buy the faster more poweful one or if its more powerful then what I have its an improvement.

Report •

Related Solutions

March 17, 2012 at 19:59:45
Ooops I guess it would be;

Discrete: GTX 560

Discrete: HD 5850, HD 6870

Those ones up there would be 4 tiers up

Report •

March 17, 2012 at 20:34:19
Well I guess from reading the gtx 560 is slightly less as good as the 6870 with the gtx ti being slightly more powerful but with the prices being:

560 gtx $190
6870 $170
560 ti $240

I find the decision is an easy one. Thank you for the help.

Report •

March 18, 2012 at 18:39:29
Here is a brand new gtx 460 for $121

Why are u running CPU at default speed? U got the chipset that capable of running CPU at higher clock.

You know the real meaning of peace only if you have been through the war.

Report •

March 19, 2012 at 11:17:46
"Why are u running CPU at default speed? U got the chipset that capable of running CPU at higher clock."

I had it overclocked in the bios before I upgraded to the above RAM, DDR 800. For some wierd reason just before I upgraded my RAM, when I overclock it, at some point it sets itself back to default. So, since I upgraded I just left it alone.

Report •

Ask Question